Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Found A Smokin Deal
GlamisDunes.com > Quads - OHV's - Two-wheelers > Quads and Three-wheelers
hboldno7
So, I found a Great Deal on an 02 400ex on line. From the pics it appears to be in great shape. The seller is located in Tampa Florida and is only asking $2300. Here is the response I got from him after I aked him if he still had it and if the price was correct.
--

Hello,

Thank you for your mail.The quad is still for sale.
Let me tell you something about the quad.As you can see in the pictures it is in great condition.No damage, never involved in any accidents, never been laid down.The quad was kept only in the garage.The title is clear.I resolved all the documents with a lawyer.So, when you will receive the quad all you have to do is to put your signature on the documents and the quad will be yours.
I am in Tampa Florida.Where are you located?
To secure the transaction i would like to use an escrow service such as :
http://premiertransactions.ssl-ebaycheck.com/
In this way both will be 100% protected and you will have a trial period to inspect the quad before take a decision.
I think this is the best option to complete a deal.What is your opinion?
Please reply ASAP.

Thank you!


--


I responded letting him know i live in so. cal and he offerred to take care of the shipping? Is this starting to sound a little to good to be true? Has anybody in here ever used an escrow service to securre an on-line transaction?


Thanks

Marcel
DUNE
Sounds like a scam to me. Selling a $4,000 bike for $2,300 and taking care of the shipping is to good to be true, the shipping alone should be something like 300 to 500 bucks. Watch out ....
Screamin Ian
it will probably ask for a few hundred dollar deposit or starting fee for the escrow people, and bam your money is gone, heard of something like this before only it was for street bikes. watch out.
Bansh88
Sounds like major buls!t to me! Even if it was legit it still sounds like a pain in the a$$. I have seen newer 400EX go for under $3,000 on this board. Keep sweeping the Traders. You'll find a deal. Screw that Florida sheisster!
sandhappy1
Hi there... I am 99% sure that this is a scam... My boss found a 2000 Honda rancher in maryland on Cycletrader.com for only $2800. The guy wrote in an email that he would cover shipping and that he would only accept payment from this escrow service. I then told my boss to call the phone # that was listed on the ad. he called the phone # and it was disconected. My Boss then requested to talk to the guy on the phone, but they guy said that he was dissabled and that he was unable to talk on the phone. My boss then said that he had a cousin that lived in Boston and he wanted to have him look at the quad in person. The guy wrote back and insisted that the quad was in good shape and that there was no reason to look at it!! After some research we found out that this guy has bikes listed for sale in oregon, maryland, Florida, and like 10 other states!!!!!!!!!!!! NEVER NEVER NEVER use these escrow services!!!!! Some of them will use a web address similar to the address where the bike is for sale such as Traderonlineescrow.com....which is in no way connected to traderonline.com. The rule is this... if it is too good to be true it probably is..
hboldno7
thanks for the advice guys. I figured it was to good to be true.
Sandpusher
It may not be that bad.
I actually bought a quad on ebay from a guy in New York. The price was fair.

What you need to do is find the escrow company yourself. Then call the BBB to ensure they are legitimate and to find out if they have any complains.

If the BBB does not have much info on them, don't even try.
I've heard some sellers have deals worked out with escrow companies and that's how they rip people off.

Like I said, look for an escrow company as near as possible to where you live, and there personallyt if you can. Once you found the escrow company is legitimate, you have nothing to worry about.

The seller will not get the money until you have received the quad, and it arrived in satisfactory conditions.

I forgot the company I used for my transaction. I will look it up and let you know tomorrow. Now, shipping is expensive. I search like crazy for the best deal. I found a really good company. I will look for the info in you are interested too.
d33pt
DO NOT do this..this is the classic escrow scam. if it's too good to be true, it probably is. that's the rule i always go by
SHOCKER
Yeah ebay can be good and bad just have to keep your eye out
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.