r3meyer

Diy Holding Tank Repair With Plastic Welding

So at the end of my last trip to Glamis I setup to drain my black and grey tanks. I turned on my tank sprayer for the grey tank and noticed alot of water coming out from under my older weekend warrior. On closer inspection here is what I found.

tank1.JPG

This crack was huge. Went from one side of the tank to the other. Close to 2 feet long. You can see in the picture where something hit the tank from the gouge marks.

tank2.JPG

tank3.JPG

Now normally I would just replace a broken part with a new part. However finding another holding tank that will fit in the same spot and use the same cross bars on an older 02 weekend warrior was going to be a task. A new tank was somewhere in the $200+ range plus changing the mounting location and plumbing setup. I could not for the life of me find the same tank.

I decided to give plastic welding a try. I have never done it before but figured what the hell. Grabbed a plastic welder from Harbor Freight that hooks up to an air compressor, some Polypropylene repair rods that were $5 for a pack and gave it a shot. Well about 1.5 hrs later I had a leak free tank again! Not a drop of leakage. I filled the tank and then pushed it up and down with my feet and it held! Could not believe it!

Its not pretty but I figured this might help someone else who punctures or cracks one of their tanks. It was easy and fun. Most important part is figuring out what kind of plastic you are welding and ensure the rod or patch is the same type. Tool was $49 and I am sure I will find a lot of reasons to use it.

tank4.JPG

tank5.JPG

tank6.JPG

tank7.JPG

I fixed the whitish fresh water tank by plastic welding and it holds 110 gal. of water most of the time. what I would do differant in the future that I read about after finishing and installing (PLUS I ADDED ADDITIONAL SUPPORT FOR THE TANK) is I have since been imbedding wire screen door material into the weld zone. and that really adds strength.