bizness

Clutch Pedal Gets Soft After Motor Heats Up

So, started to have this issue a little while back while in Idaho where clutch got soft after engine got hot. Figured maybe fluid was just breaking down so drained, bled, and replaced with synthetic fluid. Now, starting to do again even when clutch is not used much during a run. Then goes fine after engine cools off.

New clutch plates? Or someone know of another issue that may be causing this?

Thanks....

Edited by bizness

Thats a new one on me. I am not a Motorcycle mechanic but have built a few Hayabusa powered sand cars and used stock and Hi-po clutches.

My only thought is that the engine oil is also around the clutch as its a wet clutch it is possible you are not running the right oil and its getting hot and thinning out.

I have always been pretty strict about running Motul 300V 4T 15W50 or Suzuki Performance 10W-40 Oil

I'll be watching this closely..

Edited by fullthrottleguy

Thats a new one on me. I am not a Motorcycle mechanic but have built a few Hayabusa powered sand cars and used stock and Hi-po clutches.

My only thought is that the engine oil is also around the clutch as its a wet clutch it is possible you are not running the right oil and its getting hot and thinning out.

I have always been pretty strict about running Motul 300V 4T 15W50 or Suzuki Performance 10W-40 Oil

I'll be watching this closely..

Thanks for the input; use Amsoil Full Synthetic 10w50 wet clutch oil (same as what previous owner had used).

Amsoil Dominator 10w30 is what is recommended on a hayabusa with some engine work. I get that from APE and Carpenter Racing.

Is the clutch slipping at all? We just ordered a new oem clutch for my buddies king car with HD springs.

Is the clutch slipping at all? We just ordered a new oem clutch for my buddies king car with HD springs.

No slipping at all; Runs great, but loses pedal after heating up.