Sign in to follow this  
saychz316

USS Fitzgerald

Im just a regular guy in this world. But can someone explain to me just how in the hell a United States Naval Destroyer collides with a container ship in the Pacific?

I mean was this Titanic style? Everyone asleep at the wheel on the Fitzgerald? 

I just find it so hard to believe that a state of the art effing destroyer gets in a fender bender with a Phillipino container ship, and leaves us with 7 sailors missing. Tragic.

Im just at a loss.

I can speculate based on my experience...

The surface Navy has a culture and mindset that doesn't give a f*ck about their people.  They keep them up for days, rotate their watches so they have no circadian rhythm, don't feed them properly.  Add that to the culture and mindset of today's generation, but this has been happening since we put ships to sea.  These people are so tired and simply don't give a f*ck.  While I was an Operations Officer on a Destroyer Squadron Staff, I wrote a program (something Aviators had been doing for years) and pushed it out to our ships to change their watch schedules to shorter watches and put people on a circadian rhythm.  First response...they freaked and wouldn't do it.  After a while, they tried it. Guess what...better performance, morale went up, people got healthier.  After I transferred, they went back to their old ways.  Until directed, the surface Navy will never grow and always have these problems.

U.S. Navy ships are manned 100% of the time on the bridge...on watch.  Merchant ships...they put the thing on autopilot and go to bed.  They have proximity warnings that are suppose to wake people up...but...not all do.

This was a multiple layer failure.  Bridge watches not looking out.  Bridge navigation team, not monitoring radar.  Combat team...not monitoring radar.

Next possible solution...