BRINGENKAOS

Part found on trans oil plug

Found this while drain my PBS S4. Shim? Anyone have an idea what it could be? It's very thin and very small maybe the size of a pinky nail.

20181013_162458.jpg

Snap ring. 

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Snap ring. 

Yup

Any idea what its supposed to be holding in

Well, I wouldn't worry, its obviously extra or it wouldn't be floating around in there like that....

That's just the end of a snap ring, the rest of the ring could still be holding what it's supposed to.  I'm a backyard mechanic so If it were me I would use a borescope to look around inside or attach a magnet to a coat hanger and see what I could fish out. Maybe one of the trans guys will give you and idea.

The only thing I know about PBS is Mr. Rogers isn't alive anymore. :blink:

Edited by offroader59

Who did your last rebuild? I had a shop take a record time doing rebuild where all I needed was a R&P (like always) on a Mendi S4. Ran the car for half and went to change the oil and had some big chunks of shit stuck to the plug and a lot of it. It wasn't normal by any stretch.  So I pull and take it to Ranch and there is nothing wrong. So what I'm saying and was a listed as a possibility s the drain plug wasn't cleaned when the trans was apart.  

6 minutes ago, SANDPSYCHO said:

Who did your last rebuild? I had a shop take a record time doing rebuild where all I needed was a R&P (like always) on a Mendi S4. Ran the car for half and went to change the oil and had some big chunks of shit stuck to the plug and a lot of it. It wasn't normal by any stretch.  So I pull and take it to Ranch and there is nothing wrong. So what I'm saying and was a listed as a possibility s the drain plug wasn't cleaned when the trans was apart.  

Brand new trans (1 1/2 yr old now). 2nd oil change on it. 1st was break in and this was the 1 yr change. Rancho built it for me

Edited by BRINGENKAOS