fullthrottleguy

School me on Fortin Transaxles please

Pretty simple stuff I hope. 

I am considering a Fortin in my new car rather than an S4S or S4D, given an Albins (while my first choice) is too big and too expensive.  I like the reputation and size of the Fortin and have used Fortin cages forever and Fortin racks,  although I have had little experience with the transaxles. I know some of the history and people with them that I dune with like them.

The 4 speed is about the size of the 2D and FRS 4spd is just a little longer, both are alot  lighter and more compact  than the S4D and Albins. Given the Car is light (under 2300lbs) and the HP is going to be fairly low - looking at 900 ish at the crank. The Fortin looks like the winner, albeit expensive and not seemingly available in the used market.  My goto has aways been the Weddle/Mendeola S4 or the PBS S4 for the last few cars.  and honestly they work just fine and are priced right,  but space  and weight and just a change have me thinking.

Suggestions welcome- thanks

haven't heard much about them lately.   not a big fan at all of the wide 4.  really hard to beat a S4D in that price range.  they are very expensive to repair and don't have big Ring and pinons .  Passed on a funco gen 5 I really wanted because it had a wide 4 in there instead of a seq.  King tim and brandon long have owned them might PM them. 

I have a wide 4 in my car and love it.  Even though it's only a 10" ring, it's much stronger than other 10" rings because it uses a huge pinion. Much larger contact area and higher ratio on the r&p. They shift super smooth. Even though they are an H pattern, they are a dog shift so no clutch shifts. They do make a lot of noise because of the straight cut gears. They run very cool because of the straight cut gears. It also has a gear driven oil pump available. 

I know a r&p for a Mendi s5- 2d is around 1400, a fortin is 4k.

1 hour ago, Hondo said: