thowell

steering problem

I have a question that may seem incredibly simple to some of you, but i have no experience in this portion of sand cars and the geometry of it all. This last thanksgiving weekend i had an upper control arm tie-rod give on me. No parts were broken in the process other than that, my brother went and got me a new bolt and i was able to fix it in the dunes fairly effortlessly. What i noticed though once i got back to camp is that the right front where the tie-rod broke, the tire doesn't seem to be in line any longer with the driver side tire. I dont know what got changed in the event, but it is definitely not aligned the way it was before. How do i get it back to both tires shooting straight?

Do you mean an upper tie-rod heim go out? If so you just need to screw in the new heim further/farther out to get your toe correct. If it isn't threaded in the right length it will push the toe of the tire either further out or pull it in. Tie rods are reverse threads so you can adjust it by loosening the lock nuts and spinning the tie rod by hand

3 minutes ago, acefuture said:

Do you mean an upper tie-rod heim go out? If so you just need to screw in the new heim further/farther out to get your toe correct. If it isn't threaded in the right length it will push the toe of the tire either further out or pull it in. Tie rods are reverse threads so you can adjust it by loosening the lock nuts and spinning the tie rod by hand

it was the bolt that goes through the frame that broke, but i did have to remove what you are talking about in order to remove the broken bolt from it. I dont know all the lingo sorry about that lol. i must have not threaded in the heim the right amount when i reinstalled. thanks acefuture i knew it would be something simple.