Desertdogs

Why doesn’t anyone use a Porsche 911 (or any Porsche) engine?

Seems the weight is similar to Big Block and LS series, and RPMs similar to Honda/Subaru; cost is about the same as a nice LS built motor.  Curious

I'm no expert, but cost has to be one factor. If you want the benefits of a flat six, the subaru 3.3 with a turbo will make a ton of power. It's not cheap, but iirc it was designed in conjunction with porsche. John at out front will probably chime in as he in one of the experts on that motor In a sandcar....

What's the point? LS engines are tried and true and you can buy performance parts for them anywhere. 

2 hours ago, Desertdogs said:

Seems the weight is similar to Big Block and LS series, and RPMs similar to Honda/Subaru; cost is about the same as a nice LS built motor.  Curious

they are just a junk motor, with bearing issues,  and need to turbo them to make any HP, 

we have pulled the 1990 - 2010 motors and have put in a LS

the LS 6.0 stock walks away from the Porsche engine,  the 416 with a mid cam, eats the Twin Turbo motor,

only issue with doing the Conversion is that the Porsche motor has a higher RPM so in a street car the transaxle needs to be regarded,  to go though the transaxle we spent about 10K to make it work correctly with the LS,

as putting a Porsche in a Sandcar would be the Fastest way to destroy the value of the car, that would be the only fast part,  was popular in the early 90's and the Cadi motor made the Flat 6 disappear, to much to go wrong with the old dual twin plug distributors, and the new ones burn oil and need proper car for little HP, 

if you wanted a super Hi RPM motor I would think the Busa would be better than the Porsche, I know about 3 of the Dual Cam Dual plug motors is you need one,

8 hours ago, Desertdogs said: