jwest2sh

Upgrading the New to me enclosed trailer

So I sold my 24x8 enclosed a couple months ago and picked up another used one off of craigslist up in Riverside.  It's a Hallmark 24x8.5.  I had been changing wheels on the buggy for 9 years and was sick of it.  I'll be able to drive right into the new trailer with my dirt wheels or sand wheels on the buggy!  :headbang:

I got it from a guy who owned a cabinet company so he built a pretty nice oak kitchen style cabinet for the front of the trailer....which was immediately sold on Offerup because it wouldn't work for me.  I picked up a toolbox from home depot and planned on building some cabinets for the front and putting a fuel station in it.  After doing some research...it was actually cheaper to have Universal Trailers do it for me.  They did the front cabinets with aluminum faces, installed my tool box and the 54 gal fuel station for $2700 cash.  Just for me to buy the materials to do the project was well over 3K.  So that's what I did.  It took them about 3-1/2 weeks to do it but it came out pretty nice.  They were a little challenging to deal with, mainly due to the language barrier, but they got it done.  They left a mess in the trailer but I still think it was a good deal.  I picked it up last Saturday. 

The trailer sits pretty high so I put some fold out steps on it for the side door.  The door is 4' wide so I got two 24" stairs from etrailer.com.    I'm in the process of installing an air hose reel and an electric cord reel inside the cabinet.  I plan on putting a 6" access door on the passenger side to access the hose and cord from the outside.  

A couple other minor upgrades I've done:

Outside flood lights changed to LED

Clearance lights changed to LED

Beefed up the tongue that was starting to bend from tongue weight on the jack...had to do this on my last trailer too.

New G rated tires

Low point drain on the fuel tank

Rewired the tongue jack and plug and cut out the rats nest