John@Outfront Mtrsprts

anyone have knowledge of moving a 100 year old Oak tree 35 feet

I have a really important reason to have to move an Oak tree on my property  18" diameter trunk 25foot canopy, 25foot high.  having a bid on sat but didn't know if anyone had any experiences with this kind of job.  So far I hear its a 2 month process, cut a 10 x 10 foot trench 3foot deep, then excavate 4 feet down and box it up like a normal tree. Band it tight.  water every other day for 2 months and don't disturb.  then excavate by hand under the tree and box the bottom in.  all done with large 2 x 12"  then either a 60k crane or slide it with a huge excavator into its new position

I see these things around Omaha all the time...

52772589-A3C6-434D-8A83-C22ADE0C6B28.jpeg

On a tree that large, I am not an expert, but have been told an oak tree has a root system that nearly mirrors its size, and I would venture to say you run a high risk of killing the tree.. Again I'm not an expert, by I would asp a professional arborist , not your local Jose landscaper.

1 hour ago, SCHMIDTY said:

On a tree that large, I am not an expert, but have been told an oak tree has a root system that nearly mirrors its size, and I would venture to say you run a high risk of killing the tree.. Again I'm not an expert, by I would asp a professional arborist , not your local Jose landscaper.

its not jose but Chano lol. but this is what he does for a living

1 hour ago, whoopsadaisy said:

I see these things around Omaha all the time...

52772589-A3C6-434D-8A83-C22ADE0C6B28.jpeg

yeah i saw this on you tube. amazing machine.  i also saw them move a massive tree in a 20' x 20' box. 1500 feet away.  two huge dozers pulling and 2  35ton excavators pulling them and one more excavator pushing.  they should a pic of the tree 5 years later. a city landmark

John, seriously

Fire wood for years and plant a few new ones.